LOUISE LEVATHES WHEN CHINA RULED THE SEAS PDF

In the tradition of Barbara Tuchman and Jonathan Spence, former veteran National Geographic staff writer Louise Levathes delivers a vivid, you-are-there. When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne Louise Levathes, Author Simon & Schuster $23 (p) ISBN. When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne, – By Louise Levathes. New York: Simon and Schuster, pp. $

Author: Nikozragore Vora
Country: South Sudan
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Technology
Published (Last): 10 December 2010
Pages: 45
PDF File Size: 4.78 Mb
ePub File Size: 12.75 Mb
ISBN: 126-7-51868-381-9
Downloads: 3158
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Gashura

During the brief period from toseven epic expeditions brought China’s “treasure ships” across the China Seas and the Indian Ocean, from Taiwan to the spice islands of Indonesia and the Malabar coast of India, on to the rich ports of the Persian Gulf and down the African coast, China’s “El Dorado,” and perhaps even to Australia, three hundred years before Captain Cook levahtes credited with its discovery.

On Hinduism Wendy Doniger. China in World History Paul S.

China’s India War Bertil Lintner. There is archaeological evidence that the Yi people traveled as far as South and Central America.

Contemporary is lamic Law in Indonesia Arskal Salim. Zhu Di proved to be farsighted, as China’s economy prospered and its prestige grew from the strong trade relations that were fostered with other countries. Chapter 4, The Treasure Fleet.

When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne 1405-1433

In When China Ruled the SeasLouise Levathes takes a fascinating and unprecedented look at this dynamic period in China’s enigmatic history, focusing on the country’s rise as a naval power that briefly brought half the world under its nominal authority. Chapter 7, Emissaries of the Dragon Throne.

  INTRODUCTION TO DATA STRUCTURES IN C BY ASHOK N.KAMTHANE PDF

The United States and China: Drawing on eye-witness accounts, official Ming histories, and African, Arab, and Indian sources, many translated for the first time, Levathes brings readers inside China’s most illustrious wben and technological era. Chapter 10, The Last Lousie.

When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne, Summary & Study Guide

Beautifully illustrated and engagingly written, When China Ruled the Seas is the fullest picture yet of the early Ming dynasty—the last flowering of Chinese culture before the Manchu invasion. Monday – Friday, 8: He also had good instincts about the importance of spreading Chinese culture.

Oxford University Press is a department of the University of Oxford. Zhu Di, therefore, ordered the building of a huge first-class naval fleet which consisted of cargo ships as well as warships. More summaries and resources for teaching or studying When China Ruled the Seas: When China Ruled the Seas: Leaving for the Rising Sun Jiang Wu. This study guide contains the following sections: A hundred years before Columbus and his fellow Europeans began making their way to the New World, fleets of giant Chinese junks commanded by the eunuch admiral Zheng He and filled with the empire’s finest porcelains, lacquerware, and silk ventured to the edge of the world’s “four corners.

Zhu Di enjoyed a lengthy reign and the treasure fleet ruled the seas during most of it. One change he made was to cut back on the louiwe of the treasure fleet. Chapter 3, The Prisoner and the Prince. Oxford University Press is a department of the University of Oxford. She sheds new light on the historical and cultural context in which this great civilization thrived, as well as the perception of other cultures toward this little understood empire at the time.

  ADMINISTRACION DE RECURSOS HUMANOS CHIAVENATO 8VA EDICION PDF

The largest wooden boats ever built, these extraordinary ships were the most technically superior vessels in the world with innovations such as balanced rudders and bulwarked compartments that predated European ships by centuries.

First venturing out in the China Seas and reaching many strategic trading locations in Asia, the famous treasure fleet of the Ming Dynasty eventually voyaged as far as the African coast and the Middle East. Browse all BookRags Study Guides. Her goal, quite obviously, was to encompass the thousand year history of China’s dominance on the high seas into one tome.

It furthers the University’s objective of excellence in research, scholarship, and education by publishing worldwide. Beautifully illustrated and engagingly written, When China Ruled the Seas is the fullest picture yet of the early Ming Dynasty–the last flowering of Chinese culture before the Manchu invasions. Skip to main content. When China Ruled the Seas The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne, Louise Levathes Drawing on eye-witness accounts, official Ming histories, and African, Arab, and Indian sources, Levathes offers a stunning portrait of the rise and fall of China’s great navy–one hundred years before Columbus–boasting the largest wooden boats ever built, technically superior vessels that predated European ships by centuries.

She sheds new light on the historical and cultural context in which this great civilization thrived, as well as the perception of China by other contemporary cultures. Half the world was in China’s grasp, and the rest could easily have been, had the emperor so wished.