LOUISE LEVATHES WHEN CHINA RULED THE SEAS PDF

In the tradition of Barbara Tuchman and Jonathan Spence, former veteran National Geographic staff writer Louise Levathes delivers a vivid, you-are-there. When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne Louise Levathes, Author Simon & Schuster $23 (p) ISBN. When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne, – By Louise Levathes. New York: Simon and Schuster, pp. $

Author: Tojashicage Migul
Country: Ethiopia
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: History
Published (Last): 26 July 2013
Pages: 121
PDF File Size: 6.70 Mb
ePub File Size: 16.39 Mb
ISBN: 619-8-31934-339-8
Downloads: 31610
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Maucage

In she was a visiting scholar at the Hopkins-Nanjing Center for Chinese and Half the world was in China’s grasp, and the rest could easily have been, had the emperor so wished.

More summaries and resources for teaching or studying When China Ruled the Seas: During the brief period from toseven epic expeditions brought China’s “treasure ships” across the China Seas and the Indian Ocean, from Taiwan to the spice islands of Indonesia and the Malabar coast of India, on to the rich ports of the Persian Gulf and down the African coast, China’s “El Dorado,” and th even to Australia, three hundred years before Captain Cook was credited with its discovery.

In When China Ruled the SeasLouise Levathes takes a fascinating and unprecedented look at this dynamic period in China’s enigmatic history, focusing on China’s rise as a naval power that literally could have ruled the world and at its precipitious plunge into isolation when a new emperor ascended the Dragon Throne.

Epilogue, A People Called Baijini.

His successors either ascribed to the Confucians who were against trade or were unsuccessful in their bids to return China to a dominant force on the high seas.

When China Ruled the Seas: Chapter 3, The Prisoner and the Prince.

When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne, 1405-1433 Summary & Study Guide

Monday – Friday, 8: Zhu Di, therefore, ordered the building of a huge first-class naval fleet which consisted of cargo ships as well as warships. The largest wooden boats ever built, these extraordinary ships were the most technically superior vessels in the world with innovations such as balanced rudders and bulwarked compartments that predated European ships by centuries. Epilogue, A People Called Baijini.

  INTRODUCTION TO HYDROLOGY 5TH EDITION WARREN VIESSMAN PDF

Open Road Distribution Publication Date: She sheds new light on the historical and cultural context in which this great civilization thrived, as well as rjled perception of other cultures toward this little understood empire at llouise time. On Hinduism Wendy Doniger. In When China Ruled the SeasLouise Levathes takes a fascinating and unprecedented look at this dynamic period in China’s enigmatic history, focusing on the country’s rise as a naval power that briefly brought half the world under its nominal authority.

The period of China’s greatest outward expansion was followed by the period of its greatest isolation.

When China Ruled the Seas

Beautifully illustrated and engagingly written, When China Ruled the Seas is the fullest picture yet of the early Ming Dynasty and its extraordinary navy. She lives in Washington, D.

Chapter 7, Emissaries of the Dragon Throne. She sheds new light on the historical and cultural context in which this great civilization thrived, as well as the perception of other cultures toward this little understood empire at the time.

Levathes certainly has the background and credentials to have penned the account of China’s maritime dominance during the Ming Dynasty. The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne, View the Lesson Plans.

During the Zhu Di’s declining years, he moved his capital to the newly constructed Forbidden City which caught fire soon after its completion. She sheds new light on the historical and cultural context in which this great navy thrived, as well as the perception of other cultures toward this little understood empire at the time.

Chapter 3, The Prisoner and the Prince. Copyrights When China Ruled the Seas: Browse all BookRags Study Guides. Confucians held the belief that dealing with foreigners held only peril for China.

When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne, Summary & Study Guide

Zhu Di also felt that the people of China would prosper and be benefited by products that were not indigenous to their country.

The largest wooden boats ever chiba, these extraordinary ships were the most technically superior vessels in the world with innovations such as balanced rudders and bulwarked compartments that predated European ships by centuries.

  JAGIELSKI GEODEZJA PDF

Zhu Di enjoyed a lengthy reign and the treasure fleet ruled the seas during most of it. Chapter 11, The Sultan’s Bride. View the Study Pack. During the brief period from toseven epic expeditions brought China’s “treasure ships” across the China Seas and the Indian Ocean, from Taiwan to the spice islands of Indonesia and the Malabar coast of India, on to the rich ports of the Persian Gulf and down the African coast, China’s “El Dorado,” and perhaps even to Australia, three hundred years before Captain Cook was credited with its discovery.

Family, Fields, and Ancestors: When China Ruled the Seas The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne, Louise Levathes Drawing on eye-witness accounts, official Ming histories, and African, Arab, and Indian sources, Levathes offers a stunning portrait of the rise and fall of Levathse great navy–one hundred years before Columbus–boasting the largest wooden boats ever built, technically superior vessels that predated European ships by centuries.

She lives in Washington, D. Reviews “Levathes tells her story in a lively style, and details her sources meticulously.

When China Ruled the Seas – Louise Levathes – Oxford University Press

China from the s to Second Edition Jack Gray. But instead, China turned inward, as suceeding emperors forbade overseas travel and stopped all building and repair of oceangoing junks. Drawing on eyewitness accounts, official Ming histories, and African, Arab, and Indian sources, many translated for the first time, Levathes brings readers inside China’s most illustrious scientific and technological era.

View the Study Pack. The Ming Dynasty began in the late-fourteenth century. In When China Ruled the SeasLouise Levathes takes a fascinating and unprecedented look at this dynamic period in China’s enigmatic history, focusing on China’s rise as a naval power that literally could have ruled the world and at its precipitious plunge into isolation when lpuise new emperor ascended the Dragon Throne.